Institute for Information Systems and Software Technology
IFIS

IFIS

According to the motto "Science to business" the Institute for Information Systems and Software Engineering (IFIS) offers scientific and technical know-how for successful planning and realization of modern information systems to both regional and international companies.

Portrait

The IFIS institute was founded in the year 2000 in the course of the Bavarian Government's High-Tech Campaign as a unit of the Passau University. Under the guidance of Prof. Dr. Burkhard Freitag ( Director of the Institute) and Dr. Ulrich Zukowski (Chief Executive Officer) the institute intends to serve as a link between science and business.

The close bond to Prof. Freitag's Chair for Information Management facilitates an extensive interchange of knowledge, and along with this, an ideal interaction between theory, latest scientific research and its practical implementation.

Service Offer

The wide range of services offered by IFIS includes the conception, implementation and evaluation of software systems, the issue of expert opinions and feasibility studies, as well as continuing professional development possibilities.

Areas of Expertise

Technically the IFIS concentrates especially on information and knowledge mangagement, e-learning, workflow management as well as internet and intranet based information systems.

Along with conceptual work, the development of software tools and solutions plays a major role in the Institute.

Institut für Informationssysteme und Softwaretechnik
IFIS

IFIS

IFIS-Logo

Unter dem Motto "Science to Business" bietet das Institut für Informationssysteme und Softwaretechnik (IFIS) regionalen und überregionalen Unternehmen wissenschaftliches und technisches Know-How zur Planung und Realisierung moderner Informationssysteme.

Portrait

Das Institut, das im Mai 2000 im Rahmen der High-Tech-Offensive Bayern als Einrichtung der Universität Passau gegründet wurde, übernimmt unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Burkhard Freitag (Direktor des Instituts) im Bereich Technologietransfer und -beratung eine Brückenfunktion zwischen Wissenschaft und Praxis.

Die Nähe zum Lehrstuhl für Informationsmanagement von Prof. Freitag ermöglicht einen intensiven Wissensaustausch und damit einhergehend ein optimales Zusammenspiel von Theorie, neuesten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen und deren Anwendung in der Praxis.

Leistungsangebot

Im Mittelpunkt des Leistungsspektrums von IFIS stehen die Konzeption, Implementierung und Evaluation von Softwaresystemen, die Durchführung von Gutachten und Machbarkeitsstudien sowie sein Qualifikations- und Weiterbildungsangebot.

Kompetenzfelder

In fachlicher Hinsicht konzentriert sich das IFIS insbesondere auf die Themenbereiche Informations- und Wissensmanagement, eLearning, Workflowmanagement sowie Internet-/Intranet-Informationssysteme.

Neben der konzeptionellen Arbeit nimmt die Entwicklung von Softwaretools und -lösungen einen großen Stellenwert innerhalb des Instituts ein.